Baking Frenzy: Hummingbird Bundt Cake

So I got this cool thing for our wedding recently:

kitchenaid

I have never seen such beauty on my counter top before. I get a bit giddy every time I look at it. Brownies, cookies, breads and cakes have been steadily working their way out of my oven and into our mouths thanks to this baby.

Last weekend, I got the baking bug again and decided to try something new. I had bananas sitting on my counter and a new bundt pan I wanted to try so I took a stab at the Hummingbird Cake. Adapted from Southern Living, this was an easy cake to make and boy, was it delicious.

IMG_1804

I am still working on the “taking photos of my food” thing. I don’t have natural light in my kitchen and the counters are dark. It’s a work in progress. But trust me, if this cake doesn’t look good in the photo, it tastes great in real life. Top it with cream cheese frosting and pecans (omg) and you’ve got yourself a crowd pleaser.

For the whole recipe, click here.

Baker’s Notes: I didn’t toast my pecans. I forgot about that step. Woops! Also, the recipe says to stir ingredients until just combined. As I reflected above, I am using my mixer every chance I can get. I just popped all the ingredients in the mixer, turned on the lowest setting, and stirred until combined.

Happy baking!

 

Leave a Reply

